OutdoorGearReviews is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Top 12 best waterproof hiking boots in 2022 you can’t miss!

James Biden
  Feb 7, 2023 5:53 PM

A good pair of Hiking Boots can protect your feet and provide lots of traction whether you're strolling along neighborhood trails, trekking up a mountain or hiking in the snow. Consider waterproofing as well if you live in a wet and rainy climate (like the Pacific Northwest) or go hiking frequently in spring and fall. Even if it's not raining, you might stumble across puddles, mud spots, and brooks when you're outside. 

In fact, there are a wide range of advanced Waterproof Hiking Boots on the market to help you stay comfortable and dry. Get the Best Waterproof Hiking Boots right now to make your trip more amazing by reading this informative review.


Compare Products

Showing  1 - 10  in  16 results
TOP Choice
1
  • SCORE
    9.2
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    LOWA Boots
TOP Choice
2
  • SCORE
    9.1
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Merrell
TOP Choice
3
  • SCORE
    9.1
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Columbia
4
  • SCORE
    8.7
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Salomon
5
  • SCORE
    8.9
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Timberland
6
  • SCORE
    8.9
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Salomon
7
  • SCORE
    -
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Carhartt
8
  • SCORE
    9.3
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Timberland
9
  • SCORE
    8.2
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Timberland
10
  • SCORE
    8.1
    AI Score

    G Score is a ranking system developed by our team of experts. It from 0 to 10 are automatically scored by our AI Consumer Report tool based upon the data collected. This score has no relationship or impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites.

  • Brand
    Columbia

Last update on 2023-02-07 / Affiliate links / Images, Product Titles, and Product Highlights from Amazon Product Advertising API


Review

#1: Merrell Women's Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots

Merrell Women's Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots

Check Price on Amazon

  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16 x 7 x 5 inches; 1.1 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ J06054
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Womens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ November 17, 2016
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Merrell

The Merrell Moab - the top 12 best hiking shoes have indeed been favored by hikers all around the world for more than ten years. No hiking Footwear is more respected on more trails because of its comfort and appreciation for its toughness. You'll understand what Moab means for MOTHER OF ALL BOOTS after you experience the out-of-the-box luxury that comes with sturdy leather jackets, a comfortable footbed, and a Vibram grip in a flexible package. keeps you dry while you're moving by sealing off waterproof hiking and allowing moisture to leave. On any path, you'll experience the best cushioning and comfort thanks to our Techlite lightweight ultra mid gtx boots. 
High-performance rubber sole that offers you confinement on your feet and unsurpassed durability, stability, and slip resistance.
By easing the strain on your foot with each stride, targeted heel cushioning enhances overall comfort.

What we like:

  • It's waterproof hiking boots
  • Comfort

What we dislike:

  • Big size

BUY HERE

#2: Columbia Women's Newton Ridge Lightweight Waterproof Shoe Hiking Boots

Columbia Women's Newton Ridge Lightweight Waterproof Shoe Hiking Boots

Check Price on Amazon

  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14 x 10 x 6 inches; 13 Ounces
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ 1424692
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Womens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ January 16, 2018
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Columbia

Finally, a fashionable waterproof hiking boot with the traction and comfort you need for both challenging treks and leisurely strolls, as well as any activity in between. The Newton Ridge Lightweight Waterproof Hiking Boots are constructed with premium components, expert workmanship, and durable stitching. It's tough, trail-ready footwear made for long-lasting use when trekking. Just lace up and head out. These waterproof boots waxed canvas hiking boots include overlays made of suede leather.

The performance is comfortable and dry thanks to its breathable seam-sealed membrane design. On any path, you'll experience the best cushioning and comfort thanks to our Techlite lightweight midsole. This safe and stable boot was created for a wide range of sports and incorporates outdoor lace hardware with a mountain orientation. These women's hiking shoes from Columbia come in a true-to-size fitting.
What we like:

  • Water resistant
  • Best for toe box

What we dislike:

  • Too hot

BUY HERE

#3: Merrell Men's Moab 2 Mid GTX Waterproof Hiking Boot

Merrell Men's Moab 2 Mid GTX Waterproof Hiking Boot

Check Price on Amazon

  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.7 x 9 x 4.8 inches; 1.2 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ J06051
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ July 9, 2016
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Merrell Footwear

Merrell provides intelligently designed goods that outperform the competition in terms of performance, versatility, and durability in order to enable you to discover the straightforward yet deep power of the trail. We have the greatest hiking shoes with ultra mid gtx boots, water resistant, and these hiking shoes to assist your upcoming outdoor adventure, from day hikes to week-long backpacking expeditions. With trail running and training shoes that suit your demands and your environment, hit the trails and venture off the usual road.
With adaptable casual hiking shoes and footwear with the trail-built luxury you can rely on, style meets outdoor performance. Work boots are made to exceed the hardest requirements while being comfortable to wear every day, protecting your toes from the daily grind.

What we like:

  • Waterproof boots
  • Durable

What we dislike:

  • Not so breathable

BUY HERE

#4: Columbia Men's Newton Ridge Plus Ii Waterproof Hiking Boot Shoe

Columbia Men's Newton Ridge Plus Ii Waterproof Hiking Boot Shoe

Check Price on Amazon

  • Package Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.94 x 10.87 x 5 inches; 2.4 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ 1594731
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ June 4, 2021
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Columbia

The Columbia Newton Ridge Plus II Waterproof hiking boots are the ideal ally for arduous days out on the trail. It was expertly crafted with female hikers in mind. When designing and producing men's footwear, Columbia's top priority is using high quality materials. These boots are lightweight and adaptable while flawlessly combining comfort and toughness. Our distinctive technology, which guarantees superior protection and avertance, is what makes Columbia stand out.

This hiking boot has a leather and waterproof mesh covering to keep you safe from the route to the mountain range. The highly effective traction outsole works diligently to maintain tread grip in any setting to prevent slippage. Finally, the patented lightweight midsole offers great cushioning for all-day comfort as well as impact absorption and high energy return.

What we like:

  • Best waterproof wide toe box hiking boots
  • Water resistant
  • Long-lasting

What we dislike:

  • Quite tight

BUY HERE

#5: Lowa Men's Renegade Mid GTX Hiking Boots

Lowa Men's Renegade Mid GTX Hiking Boots

Check Price on Amazon

  • Package Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.1 x 11.9 x 4.9 inches; 1.5 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ RENEGADE ULTRA MID GTX
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ March 31, 2010
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Lowa

The LOWA Renegade Mid GTX Hiking Boot blends comfort and mobility, making it perfect for short-distance weekend pack trips and day hikes. These all-terrain hiking boots have a moisture-wicking footbed, a full-length nylon shank, and a shock-absorbing Vibram bottom. They are made to support 25 pounds of light loads. The nubuck leather top of the Renegade firmly holds the feet in place, easing pressure on the feet during downhill segments.

Its Monowrap Altra lone peak mid technology offers more padding and lateral stability while reducing the weight of the boot overall. These hiking boots are perfect for walking, light camping, and other outdoor pursuits where you require traction and grip thanks to a tough Vibram outsole and substantial, non-slip rubber lugs. For the best fit and comfort, this hiking shoe is made using men's and women's lasts that are particular to each gender.

What we like:

  • Easy to use
  • Have toe box and breeze mid gtx
  • Water resistant

What we dislike:

  • More expensive

BUY HERE

#6: Salomon Men's X Ultra Mid GTX Hiking

Salomon Men's X Ultra Mid GTX Hiking

Check Price on Amazon

  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 0.39 x 0.39 x 0.39 inches; 1.23 Pounds
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Salomon

The lateral and medial sides of the foot are shielded from muddy tracks by a protective mudguard at the foot's base. Anti-debris Debris - top 12 best Altra lone peaks won't become wedged between your foot and the cushion thanks to the mesh upper. Shock absorption is provided by the High-performance EVA foam EnergyCell midsole.
Since 1947, Salomon ultra mid the best gtx boots have competed in the French Alps. We are inspired to develop innovative gear that allows you to appreciate and exceed yourself in the presence of nature by our enthusiasm for outdoor sports, cutting-edge technologies, and workmanship.
People spend less time in nature in a world where haste and worry have taken control. Built like a trail running shoe but with added ankle support and protection, the Salomon Ultra Mid is our favorite all-around hiking boot.

With descent control technology, best-seller hiking shoes like the Salomon ultra mid extreme mid GTX have become even more useful, ankle support technical hikes, and particularly shine during challenging descents. When you're wearing these, you can walk downhill with a spring in your step even when it's raining.

What we like:

  • Lightweight
  • Waterproof boots

What we dislike:

  • Difficult to clean

BUY HERE

#7: Timberland Men's Anti-Fatigue Hiking Waterproof Boots Leather Mt. Maddsen 

Timberland Men's Anti-Fatigue Hiking Waterproof Boots Leather Mt. Maddsen

Check Price on Amazon

  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.9 x 10.3 x 5.6 inches; 1.19 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ TB02731R001
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ January 16, 2013
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Timberland

Create trails on your favorite trails with our waterproof Mt. Maddsen hiking boots. These leather hikers go on any terrain while keeping your feet dry and looking amazing with your performance hiking gear and jeans and a t-shirt. Premium waterproof boots leather from an LWG Silver-rated tannery was used for the uppers. Eco-friendly waterproof membrane, TimberDryTM. Full tongue gusset. the anti-fatigue footbed that is removable. molded in compression EVA midsole.

When Timberland developed a genuine, waterproof leather boot in 1973, it set new standards for the industry in terms of craftsmanship, toughness, and protection as well as ankle support. Timberland, a leader in the design, engineering, and marketing of upscale footwear, cherishes customers who value the great outdoors and their time spent there. Timberland has been a pioneer in the footwear business when it comes to using recycled and sustainable materials in both its shoes and its packaging for them. The Timberland Company supports several charitable and philanthropic endeavors every year because it values corporate social responsibility.

What we like:

  • Convenient
  • Durable

What we dislike:

  • More expensive

BUY HERE

#8: Salomon Men's X Ultra 3 Mid GTX Hiking

Salomon Men's X Ultra 3 Mid GTX Hiking

Check Price on Amazon

  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 0.39 x 0.39 x 0.39 inches; 1.23 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ L39869100
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens

Modern chassis connect directly to the soles to stabilize your heels and are encircled by foam padding for comfort. Rubber toe caps with integrated mud shields offer dependable defense against pebbles and roots.
You can grip the ground more firmly with the help of a special outsole design made from a combination of two types of rubber. The shoes' flexibility is increased by strategically placed lines on the outsoles, which aids in reducing foot fatigue. For improved heel ankle support, Ortholite sockliners blend a specialized Ortholite foam with molded EVA heel cups. It is the best Salomon ultra mid for anyone.

What we like:

  • Have toe box
  • Good price

What we dislike:

  • Small

BUY HERE

#9: Timberland Men's Flume Breeze Mid Gtx Waterproof Hiking Boot

Timberland Men's Flume Breeze Mid Gtx Waterproof Hiking Boot

Check Price on Amazon

  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 1 x 1 x 1 inches; 1.2 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ TB018128242
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens

These hiking boots for men, named for the stunning Flume Gorge in New Hampshire, grip rocky terrain and yearn for altitude. From the trailhead to the summit and throughout every excursion in between, these mid-height waterproof hikers keep you cozy and safe. Premium 100 percent full-grain waterproof leather was used to make the uppers for durability.

The structure is waterproof and seam-sealed to keep feet dry. The tongue is fully gusseted to keep out debris. The midsole and footbeds are made of compression-molded EVA, which offers lightweight cushioning and shock absorption. Solid rubber outsole with traction-enhancing multidirectional lugs.

What we like:

  • Portable
  • Adjustable

What we dislike:

  • Big

BUY HERE

#10: Timberland Men's White Ledge Breeze Mid Gtx Waterproof Hiking Boot

Timberland Men's White Ledge Breeze Mid Gtx Waterproof Hiking Boot

Check Price on Amazon

100% premium waterproof leather from a LWG Silver-rated tannery was used for the uppers. Seam-sealed building rust-free speed lace hardware with top-mounted lace hooks. Full tongue gusset. the EVA footbed and EVA midsole. Solid rubber outsole with lugs that face various directions. With this waterproof boot and toe box on your feet, you can be sure to enjoy your time outdoors. They look excellent, are strong, and are comfy. When Timberland developed a genuine, waterproof leather boot in 1973, it set new standards for the industry in terms of craftsmanship, toughness, and protection.

The Timberland Company ankle supports several charitable and philanthropic endeavors every year because it values corporate social responsibility. Unless otherwise banned by law, Timberland cannot control the caliber of goods sold by unlicensed merchants. There must be purchase documentation. Please see the Timberland website for a full list of terms and restrictions.

When Timberland developed a genuine, waterproof leather boot in 1973, it set new standards for the industry in terms of craftsmanship, toughness, and protection. Timberland, a leader in the design, engineering, and marketing of upscale footwear, cherishes customers who value the great outdoors and their time spent there. Timberland has been a pioneer in the footwear business when it comes to using recycled and sustainable materials in both its shoes and its packaging for them.

What we like:

  • Comfortable
  • Functional

What we dislike:

  • The Toe area can not hold up daily

BUY HERE

#11: Columbia Men's Newton Ridge Plus II Waterproof

Columbia Men's Newton Ridge Plus II Waterproof

Check Price on Amazon

  • Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12 x 4 x 8 inches; 0.04 Ounces
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ 1594731
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Mens
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ March 19, 2015
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Columbia

With its waterproof protection and cozy fit, the Columbia® Newton RidgeTM Plus II Waterproof hiking shoe enables you to explore the trails in any weather. Long-lasting durability and breathability are provided by the upper PU-coated leather, suede, and mesh material. For a dry foot environment, waterproof seam-sealed construction keeps out the wet elements. Authentic lace-up design with strong metal hardware. For all-day comfort, the TechliteTM lightweight midsole provides both excellent cushioning and a high energy return. The outsole is made of the non-marking Omni-GripTM rubber composition for improved traction and durability. A footbed that is cushioned offers comfort and support.

The Newton Ridge Plus II Waterproof Hiking Boot with ankle support, altra lone peak for Men by Columbia has a high energy return system, a better cushioning system, and a lightweight, durable midsole for long-lasting comfort. It also has a high-traction rubber outsole for grip over uneven terrain. This equipment was produced in a facility that supports BSR's HERprojectTM, a comprehensive initiative that aims to empower women employed in global supply chains via training in gender equality, finance, and health. With its waterproof, seam-sealed design, this boot won't let mud, puddles, or rain get in the way of your activities.

What we like:

  • Protection
  • Built on comfortable

What we dislike:

  • Easy to fragile

BUY HERE

#12: Mens Women's Winter Ankle Snow Hiking Boots Warm Water Resistant Non-Slip Soft Lined

Mens Women's Winter Ankle Snow Hiking Boots Warm Water Resistant Non-Slip Soft Lined

Check Price on Amazon

  • Package Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.36 x 8.58 x 4.06 inches; 1.79 Pounds
  • Item model number ‏ : ‎ SnowAnklebootsF56BK36
  • Department ‏ : ‎ Unisex-adult
  • Date First Available ‏ : ‎ August 6, 2020
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08FBW79X4

You must have a pair of Mishansha ice hiking boots for daily usage or for trekking since they may fully suit your demands for snow boots in the upcoming winter of 2021.
Mishansha prioritizes WITH NUCLEO HIGH GTX  meeting client needs over everything else and is committed to providing each and every customer with high-quality, useful winter snow boots. Your greatest option for winter boots will be Mishansha snow boots. The artificial leather vamp of Mishansha winter snow boots is water-resistant and stops water from leaking into the winter shoes. The inside lining of the men's winter boots is created to resemble fleece in order to trap heat in your feet and keep you toasty this winter. The footbed of a heated snow boot is padded for comfort and support. ideal for all winter outdoor activities.

What we like:

  • Comfortable
  • Have nucleo high gtx

What we dislike:

  • More expensive

BUY HERE

 


Buying Guides

Waterproof Technology

Waterproof hiking boots and shoes contain a liner constructed of a waterproof membrane (usually Gore-Tex) underneath the outer shell. The stretched-out polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) membrane is placed between a lining and a knit backer. It has 9 billion pores per square inch, each 20,000 times smaller than a water droplet. 

Meanwhile, other brands have their own membranes, like Merrell’s M-Select Dry, Columbia’s OutDry, Keen’s Keen.Dry, and Timberland’s TimberDry. The thicknesses and levels of waterproofing vary slightly between models, but the constructions are identical. Gore-Tex is believed to be the most effective when compared to other technologies, and utilized by many well-known brands like Salomon, Asolo, and Lowa. This, however, will be more expensive than those manufactured with brand-specific waterproofing membranes.

Breathability

Waterproof boots are indispensable when you go hiking in a wet environment, but it's also crucial to examine the consequences: if you keep moisture out, you're also keeping it in. To put it another way, a waterproof shoe will not breathe as well as a non-waterproof shoe. Non-waterproof boots are more likely to have ventilated uppers and breathable mesh liners, allowing sweat to leave more easily. Gore-Tex membranes are made to let moisture out and hence ventilate from the inside out. This works great in cold and mild weather, but the waterproof will get damp and sweaty on the inside if you spend all day hiking in hot, humid weather..

Weight and Cost

A waterproof boot will almost always be more expensive and heavier than a non-waterproof one. Consider the Salomon X Ultra 4, a light and reasonably flexible hiking shoe. The Gore-Tex version costs $150 and weighs 1 pound 11.5 ounces each pair, whilst the non-waterproof variant costs $30 less and weighs roughly 2 ounces per pair. Non-Gore-Tex models are likely to face similar comparisons. For instance, the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof, which features Merrell's unique M-Select Dry waterproofing technology, weighs 2 pounds 4 ounces and values $135 for each pair. When compared to its non-waterproof sister, it’s $25 more expensive and 2 ounces heavier. 

Best Uses for Waterproof Footwear

Waterproof footwear is an ideal option for wet or cold weather and muddy or snowy terrain. It best suits winter walks, shallow stream crossings, and day outings in rainy climates. In areas prone to daily rain showers or cooler areas, hikers should also wear waterproof hiking footwear. In sum, while non-waterproof footwear is most suitable for arid weather and is also a preferable option if you want to cross deep waters (since it’s more breathable and easier to dry), waterproof shoes will outperform non-waterproof footwear in moderate rain and snow.

Note

You can refer to our previous reviews, which is Best Hiking Boots for more thorough and comprehensive information about Hiking Boots’ typical features and how to choose and test these products.



2.6
18 ratings